Looking for the Cotters of Woodslee

The Great Southern Hotel Woodslee or So. Woodslee

I have been corresponding with Dennis Cotter of Woodslee who has been trying to track down some long lost relatives.

The above picture, is the Great Southern Hotel in Woodslee — Writes Dennis — “This hotel was owned by my great grand parents Ed and Margaret Cotter, Edward (Ned) died in 1892 and Margaret ran it until she sold it to her nephew Simon Hogan in 1896. The lady on the far left is Emma Cotter Maier, one of Edward’s younger sisters.”

He is also trying to track down some missing branches of the family tree.

“My Cotter’s were from Ontario, I think near Tilbury. My grandfather, John Peck was supposedly adopted by Charles & Mary Ann Pique from around Chatham Tilbury district. I think now that there was no adoption that far back. My grand father was born in 1866 in Canada. All he knew was his real parents name was Cotter & they were too poor to keep him. Probably had other children too.
 
I’m wondering if there is any way to trace them. I have written to Chatham, Toronto and Ottawa and none could help. I’m glad to know two things, the name and the area. These Piques’ took him when he was a baby. My grandfather and mother’s name should have been Cotter if he wasn’t adopted.”

If anyone has any information to contribute, post a comment on this post and I’ll put you in touch with Dennis.

And thanks, Dennis, for sending me this request. I like it when people add to the knowledge that has already been collected by my grandmother. It means that our heritage and history is constantly growing. And therefore, the past, and our ancestors, still live on.

Posted on March 24, 2013, in Essex County Families, towns and villages and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am a descendent of edward hazel he is my 3 x great grandfather, his daughter Mary married Thomas Wilkinson, their daughter Sarah married Cortland Crank, my grandfather Alphonso was b. 1870 Leamington, he came over to Michigan and my mom Lillian Crank was born in Rose City. Both Cortland and Sarah are buried in the Rose City Cemetery. Just by coincidence my summer cottage is in Leamington exactly where Edward Hazel lived. When the lighthouse was built, the workers found the hearth to hazels homestead.

    • Thanks for the info, Rose. I knew the Hazel homestead was right around where Seacliffe Park is now … that’s really interesting about finding the original homestead. So if I look for the lighthouse, that’s where it would be?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

